Null Pointer except...

Share:
Notifications
Clear all

15th Feb 2024: Astro Pixel Processor 2.0.0-beta29 released - macOS native File Chooser, macOS CMD-Q fixed, read-only Fits on network fixed and other bug fixes

7th December 2023:  added payment option Alipay to purchase Astro Pixel Processor from China, Hong Kong, Macau, Taiwan, Korea, Japan and other countries where Alipay is used.

Null Pointer exception on multi-sessions...I might have found a bug/solution

9 Posts
2 Users
3 Likes
(@dmglakewood)
White Dwarf
Topic starter  

I've been getting this strange Null Pointer exception bug anytime I try to do a multi-session integration. It didn't matter what settings I used, it would do it. Being a programmer myself, I decided to try and troubleshoot my problem. I tried it on both Mac and Windows, same issue. I tried using different images, same issue. I tried different settings, no change. At this point I was really scratching my head. I decided to try each session individually, every single one of them worked. Now, I was even more confused.

I started going through every little detail, trying to think about what I would likely mess up if I were to make the program. When I started thinking like that, a lightbulb went off in my head...it's likely being caused by mixing master flats with individual flats. On the 4 sessions I was trying to integrate, 3 of them already had master flats, but 1 of them didn't. I converted the individual flats to a master and ran everything again. This time it worked perfectly. While I don't know what the exact bug is, it seems to have something to do with mixing sessions that use master flats with sessions that uses individual flats.

TLDR; If you're getting a null pointer exception and you're trying to do a multi-session integration, make sure each session uses a master flat. 

This topic was modified 3 years ago by David Grant

ReplyQuote
(@vincent-mod)
Universe Admin

Hi David,