Best hardware and l...

Share:
Notifications
Clear all

15th Feb 2024: Astro Pixel Processor 2.0.0-beta29 released - macOS native File Chooser, macOS CMD-Q fixed, read-only Fits on network fixed and other bug fixes

7th December 2023:  added payment option Alipay to purchase Astro Pixel Processor from China, Hong Kong, Macau, Taiwan, Korea, Japan and other countries where Alipay is used.

Best hardware and linux setup for stacking?

5 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@artaios)
White Dwarf
Topic starter  

Hi, Ya`ll,

I have some leftover hardware, and I am considering reusing it dedicated to APP stacking, especially for large mosaics. 

It`s a first-gen Threadripper with 16 cores, 64GB DDR4, and a GeForce RTX 3080 with 2x 512GB NVME SSD.

Two Questions:

1. What would be the best Linux distribution to run APP? Or would Windows work better?
  2. Would it be worth to upgrade the RAM to 128GB for better performance or larger mosaics?

I have a lot of experience with Windows and Mac but just basic knowledge of Linux. So, any hint would be highly appreciated. 

Thank you!

ReplyQuote
Topic Tags
(@artaios)
White Dwarf
Topic starter  

@mabula-admin, any recommendation from your end? I know you have quite some different hardware setups for APP testing. Is there some advice from your side, please? Thank you and a happy new year!

ReplyQuote
(@itarchitectkev)
Neutron Star

APP is Java based so largely isn't impacted by Windows, Mac or Linux.

I'm old-skool, so prefer to run Java based apps (like APP) on Mac (BSD-like) or Linux. I use APP on my iMac and Linux.

So generally, all the same rules apply regardless:

- It currently ignores your GPU for processing on all platforms, but will use it for loading your image (via openGL).

- More RAM the better for large integrations

- More CPU Cores/Threads and Core Speed, the better for faster processing as multiple sections of processing occur in parallel across all available/allocated CPUs.