Master Flat display...

Share:
Notifications
Clear all

15th Feb 2024: Astro Pixel Processor 2.0.0-beta29 released - macOS native File Chooser, macOS CMD-Q fixed, read-only Fits on network fixed and other bug fixes

7th December 2023:  added payment option Alipay to purchase Astro Pixel Processor from China, Hong Kong, Macau, Taiwan, Korea, Japan and other countries where Alipay is used.

Master Flat displays all cyan? (DSLR)

9 Posts
4 Users
1 Likes
(@chrisl)
Main Sequence Star
Topic starter  

Hello,

my name is Chris, I am new to APP an allready stacked a few Deep Sky pictures with it.
I am using a Nikon D750 and I convert the RAW-files with Nikon's Capture NX-D into TIFF before loading the files into APP (reason being the "noise reduction for Astro photos" feature of Nikons converter eliminates all bad pixels and also reduces residual colour fringes arround stars).
I am doing this also with all other frames (all correcion frame exposures).
The 25 flats are integrated in APP "average", multiply-scale, BWMV, no blur, no rejection, noLNC.

When compiling a Master Flat in APP, I run into a problem: The calculated Master Flat, opened up in the central image viewer window, looks all cyan with no typical flatfield pattern at all.

However, when I open the same file in Fitswork, the Master Flat displays as it should.

This "all cyan" problem in APP happens not all of the time, sometimes it works fine, but most of the time it does not. It also displays all cyan when closing APP and opening the MF in a new session. See encloses screenshot.

Since the Master Flat is the most important correction frame, I am wonderng if this is only a display error in the APP image window, and if the MF is still used correctly on the lights?

Or if it does not display correct, it woun't work on the lights?

Thanks very much for your help!

Chris

Masterflat

ReplyQuote
(@vincent-mod)
Universe Admin

Posted by: @chrisl

Hello,