ASI1294Pro color gr...
 
Share:

APP 1.075 has been released !

Forum support from Vincent will be limited between now and  Oktober the 30th, 2019. Mabula will be available for support on the forum though.

2019 September: Astro Pixel Processor and iTelescope.net celebrate a new Partnership!

ASI1294Pro color green screen  

Page 1 / 2
  RSS

(@wglogowski)
White Dwarf Customer
Joined: 2 years ago
Posts: 18
September 1, 2019 18:20  

This is the second time that this happened.  I shoot color binned 1x1 with an ASI1294. On the 0) tab I set my Bayer pattern, choose the algorithm (HA-OIII color, since I am using the Triad filter) and when integration is complete and I look at the integrated image the image is completely bright green.  Not a green cast, completely saturated bright green.  If I change the 0) tab to 'not supported' and uncheck the 'force Bayer CFA' the image is grayscale.  This happened once before with another target taken with the ASI1294 camera.  Any thoughts on what is the problem.  I know that binned 1x1 so I did not destroy the color pattern.

grayscale

 

greenscreen

 


ReplyQuote
(@vincent-mod)
Galaxy Moderator
Joined: 2 years ago
Posts: 851
September 1, 2019 18:39  

This happens when you don't assign data to R, G and B. So, I always assign Ha to Red, OIII to green and blue.

edit: However, if you really chose Ha-OIII color (please double check) I think it should already do that...

This post was modified 2 months ago by Vincent Groenewold - Moderator

ReplyQuote
(@wglogowski)
White Dwarf Customer
Joined: 2 years ago
Posts: 18
September 1, 2019 18:41  

So, how do I assign Ha to Red and OIII to blue and green?


ReplyQuote
(@vincent-mod)
Galaxy Moderator
Joined: 2 years ago
Posts: 851
September 1, 2019 18:42  

I always use the other algorithm (HaOIII-extract Ha and HaOIII-extract OIII), then correct and make the data how I want it for both signals and then combine them in Combine-RGB, where I do the assignment.


ReplyQuote
(@vincent-mod)
Galaxy Moderator
Joined: 2 years ago
Posts: 851
September 1, 2019 18:52  

I think you do need to "force CFA" as it's a color sensor but not identifying itself as such. And that is needed for the proper seperation of the channels. If you continue to have an issue, please send a few subs over for me to check the signal.. I'll give you server details if you indeed still have the problem.


Walter liked
ReplyQuote
(@wglogowski)
White Dwarf Customer
Joined: 2 years ago
Posts: 18
September 2, 2019 01:46  

So, I'm still having problems that I can't figure out.  Here is an image that I processed

RGGB Ha OII Forced CFA Color

set to RGGB, Ha-OIII-color and forced CFA.  as you can see it comes off as color.   I did no further processing this is just the integrated frame.  Here is data from the next night,

RGGB Ha OII Forced CFA BW

, the exact same settings.  As you can see it is mostly B/W but if you look closely there are color artifacts that can be seen.  Do you have any ideas about what I'm doing wrong?   FYI, I also used the default "Adaptive Ariy Disk" and I get the first data set in color and the next night is still in B/W

Thank you,

Walter


ReplyQuote
(@vincent-mod)
Galaxy Moderator
Joined: 2 years ago
Posts: 851
September 2, 2019 17:35  

Ok then, must be the data then I think. But to be sure, you can send the subs over to our APP server, login/password: appuser

Please create a new directory with your name on it.


ReplyQuote
(@wglogowski)
White Dwarf Customer
Joined: 2 years ago
Posts: 18
September 2, 2019 19:35  

Okay I just finsihed loading my files, I'm sure are you are correct it has somthing to do with my files.  I wonder if it is a problem with my capture software and the ASI1294 camera.  I use a bin of 3x3 for platesolving but 1x1 for image capture.  I wonder if the images are being captured at somthing other than 1x1? 


ReplyQuote
(@vincent-mod)
Galaxy Moderator
Joined: 2 years ago
Posts: 851
September 3, 2019 12:44  

Shouldn't cause this issue no, if you upload some of the subs where you didn't have this problem and some where you do, I can probably get down to the cause. I'm downloading what you uploaded now.

This post was modified 2 months ago by Vincent Groenewold - Moderator

ReplyQuote
(@wglogowski)
White Dwarf Customer
Joined: 2 years ago
Posts: 18
September 3, 2019 16:36  

Okay, I just uploaded a folder of subs that work of the same target. 


ReplyQuote
 Heno
(@heno)
White Dwarf Customer
Joined: 2 years ago
Posts: 22
September 5, 2019 18:53  

@wglogowski

Walter, I'm struggling too. Which capturing software are you using?


ReplyQuote
(@wglogowski)
White Dwarf Customer
Joined: 2 years ago
Posts: 18
September 5, 2019 23:12  

@heno

I use Prism Pro.  I really don't know what I'm talking about 🙂  I was wondering if its an issue with the ZWO camera buffering first and then Prism downloading it?  I really don't use PixInsight, but when I try to process the ASI1294 images I captured with Prism I get an error message something about improper geometry?  That got me thinking that it was something about files are being mishandled.  


ReplyQuote
 Heno
(@heno)
White Dwarf Customer
Joined: 2 years ago
Posts: 22
September 6, 2019 15:31  

@wglogowski

Well, I'dont know either. But I think I got my problem solved last night. My images turned out monocrome after processing. Seems like if I tick of Force CFA check box I do get color after all. I use SGP btw for capturing.
Hope you get your problem solved soon. Best of luck.
Helge


ReplyQuote
(@wglogowski)
White Dwarf Customer
Joined: 2 years ago
Posts: 18
September 6, 2019 16:12  

@heno

Thanks for the suggestion but I have tried to that, checking the force CFA does nothing in this case

Walter 


ReplyQuote
(@vincent-mod)
Galaxy Moderator
Joined: 2 years ago
Posts: 851
September 6, 2019 16:13  

I'll have a look at it in the coming days, bit busy for analysis.


ReplyQuote
(@wglogowski)
White Dwarf Customer
Joined: 2 years ago
Posts: 18
September 22, 2019 19:52  

@vincent-mod

Hi!  Just checking in with you.  Do you have any new thoughts on what might be the problem that I having? Walter 


ReplyQuote
(@vincent-mod)
Galaxy Moderator
Joined: 2 years ago
Posts: 851
September 27, 2019 12:24  

Hi Walter,

Sorry for the delay, I'm investigating the data now.


ReplyQuote
(@wglogowski)
White Dwarf Customer
Joined: 2 years ago
Posts: 18
September 30, 2019 20:53  

I don't mean to bug you but this same problem has occurred with other data sets taken with the ASI1294.  Any progress? 


ReplyQuote
(@vincent-mod)
Galaxy Moderator
Joined: 2 years ago
Posts: 851
October 1, 2019 11:01  

Hi Walter,

No worries, problems need to be solved so that's fine. I did have a look, but I'm not getting color either. There however doesn't seem to be anything strange going on and I haven't heard about this from anyone else. My feeling is that it might have something to do with the processing just before you load them into APP, I can't think of anything else at the moment.


ReplyQuote
(@wglogowski)
White Dwarf Customer
Joined: 2 years ago
Posts: 18
October 1, 2019 13:56  

the problem with your hypothesis is that I did not do any pre-processing.  These are right off the camera. As I said, it has happened before with other data sets taken with the ASI1294 camera. My hypothesis is that something is happening to the images when they are buffered by the ASI camera. FIY, Pixinsight does not like the images either.  This is very disappointing. 


ReplyQuote
Page 1 / 2
Share: