Most time efficient...

Share:
Notifications
Clear all

15th Feb 2024: Astro Pixel Processor 2.0.0-beta29 released - macOS native File Chooser, macOS CMD-Q fixed, read-only Fits on network fixed and other bug fixes

7th December 2023:  added payment option Alipay to purchase Astro Pixel Processor from China, Hong Kong, Macau, Taiwan, Korea, Japan and other countries where Alipay is used.

Most time efficient way to do image processing, AND, get the best possible final integrations?

17 Posts
4 Users
3 Likes
 John
(@jlis09astro)
White Dwarf
Topic starter  

Hi, I apologize in advance for the long introduction and the many questions. I've read through quite a bit of the APP forum website and watched many tutorials, but I haven't been able to gather enough information to answer my questions.

I've been using Astro Pixel Processor since August 2020, and in general, have been getting very good results. When I started using APP I was not processing very many frames at one time, so my total time spent doing pre-processing was not an issue. Since October 2020, I've been imaging with a fast focal ratio setup (Hyperstar on C11 OTA, F/1.93) and ZWO ASI183 MC pro camera (OSC) and some narrowband filtering with the OSC. I have small pixels and large file sizes. Pixel scale with this setup is 0.92. So, I now take many short exposure images (typically 30 seconds - 1 minute) and often can obtain very good and detailed images of deep sky object images like galaxies, if conditions are good. I try to add as many good quality frames to the final integrations, with the goal of getting the best possible detail and highest signal to noise ratio. And, with my not so great mount, wind, and clouds, I get a lot of bad frames in each session. So I find that I need to shoot over many nights, and obtain hundreds if not thousands of frames so that I have enough good frames remaining to get a good (fine detail, high SNR) final integration result. The downside of dealing with this many frames is th