How is Color Derive...

Share:
Notifications
Clear all

15th Feb 2024: Astro Pixel Processor 2.0.0-beta29 released - macOS native File Chooser, macOS CMD-Q fixed, read-only Fits on network fixed and other bug fixes

7th December 2023:  added payment option Alipay to purchase Astro Pixel Processor from China, Hong Kong, Macau, Taiwan, Korea, Japan and other countries where Alipay is used.

How is Color Derived?

6 Posts
3 Users
2 Likes
(@acatalano)
Molecular Cloud
Topic starter  

I am a newbie to AP and APP and am using a Nikon D5100 on a C8 to create images. I have Bortle 4-5 skies and generally avoid using any filters. APP is great because it has allowed me to get very good results with only basic understanding by structuring the workflow. So a BIG Thank You!

While I understand the concept of stretching an image with a very narrow luminance histogram, I do not understand how color is achieved in a processed image. Although the colors from the broadband pixel filters on a Nikon allow for individual channels of color to be processed, is it just the differences in the stretching of each channel that creates the colors? I assume that the "actual" colors of a celestial object such as a galaxy in actuality are simply different color temperatures of "white" rather than narrow band colors (except for nebula e.g., H-alpha). So all apparent colors in a processed image are in effect artifacts of processing? ...or is there more to it?

Just trying to get the general idea here, not necessarily the specifics of how APP does it. I have been using the slider controls in APP on the final image and they give fine results. 😘 

ReplyQuote
Topic Tags
(@wvreeven)
Quasar

@acatalano Hi Anthony,