How do you process ...
 
Share:

The problem with the data upload limit for attachments has been fixed. I have restored it to 30MegaBytes. A recent forum software upgrade was responsible for the changed limit. Please accept my apologies for missing this when upgrading the forum sofware, Mabula.

How do you process an Ha Image? Here is my NGC7000 example, is it right?  

  RSS

(@mcbbcn)
Main Sequence Star Customer
Joined: 1 year ago
Posts: 42
23/06/2019 1:26 am  

Hi,

Here is an integrated image of 3 x 20min. (Ha) frames and 3 x 25min. (Ha frames), so a total of 6 frames. I used the Ha Algorithm from Tab 0 and it has darks, bias, bpm and flats applied to it. I can't see any nebulosity. I just see a black bakcground with stars, so no contrast. It was taken from Portland Downtown with a QHY9M and narrowband filter.

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/0zwp2cb252sbyj0/AABidnU2-plcidpb_C2LSnB2a?dl=0

If you have tips for processing single Ha frames, please let me know. My goal is to have a good Ha integrated image, and then integrate my Ha image to a OSC image of the same object, and if you have tips for doing Ha + Color, please let me know too.

Please, let me know what you think and/or if you can see any nebulosity.

Best,

Miquel

This topic was modified 2 months ago by mcbbcn

WO 80mm & Maksutov 150mm
QHY8L & QHY9M


ReplyQuote
(@jbrazio)
White Dwarf Customer
Joined: 1 year ago
Posts: 12
23/06/2019 7:22 pm  

Something is wrong with your data file, stretching has no effect on it.

Do you care to post the 6 original fits frames ?


ReplyQuote
(@mcbbcn)
Main Sequence Star Customer
Joined: 1 year ago
Posts: 42
23/06/2019 8:05 pm  

Hi Joao,

I just put everything and one correction, it's 5 sub-frames. 3 subs at 20min and 2 frames at 25min. The above folder should contain now, all the frames, master flat, master dark, master bias and BPM.

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/0zwp2cb252sbyj0/AABidnU2-plcidpb_C2LSnB2a?dl=0

Also, here are some screenshots on how I have SGP configured for my QHY9M. I don't know if an SGP setting could be affecting offset or gain and hence, clipping my black point to the point that it can't be stretched.

https://photos.app.goo.gl/GSzBwDVTWSvKf9N98

I look forward to hear you feedback.

Best,

Miquel

 

 

This post was modified 2 months ago by mcbbcn

WO 80mm & Maksutov 150mm
QHY8L & QHY9M


ReplyQuote
(@vincent-mod)
Galaxy Moderator
Joined: 2 years ago
Posts: 551
27/06/2019 8:21 pm  

Sorry for the delay, I'll have a look as well, stay tuned. 🙂

edit: upon reading your process, you don't want to select the Ha algorithm in the 0-tab as this is meant for one-shot colour camera's.

This post was modified 2 months ago by Vincent Groenewold - Moderator

ReplyQuote
(@mcbbcn)
Main Sequence Star Customer
Joined: 1 year ago
Posts: 42
27/06/2019 10:43 pm  

Hi Vincent,

No worries. After checking in a couple of other forums. I learned that my offset and gain settings are very likekly the reason for my black point to be clipped. I will re-take these images when I have clear skies with the new settings and hopefully, all good.

Thanks for jumping in to help.  Best, Miquel

WO 80mm & Maksutov 150mm
QHY8L & QHY9M


Share: