Noise Reduction Process?  

RSS

(@chasmiller46)
Molecular Cloud Customer
May 25, 2018 15:52  

Although I have been image processing for several years, I am new to APP.  I am very impressed with the balance between ease of use and functionality.   One thing that seems to be missing from the #9 (Tools) tab is some form of noise reduction processing.   I find I use noise reduction processing a lot in PixInsight -- sometimes successfully and sometimes not.   Since APP uses linear images throughout the processing, that would seem to allow for some simplification of the noise reduction process. 

Are there plans to add a noise reduction process to APP?

ReplyQuote
(@mabula-admin)
Quasar Admin
May 25, 2018 20:05  

Hi @chasmiller46,

Thanks 😉 and yes, a noise reduction tool will soon come. I intend to make a tool that will enable you to perform noise reduction on different scales/resolutions snd the possibility to use different filters including star protection like available already in the preview filter for sharpening.

Cheers,

Mabula

Main developer of Astro Pixel Processor and owner of Aries Productions

ReplyQuote
(@chasmiller46)
Molecular Cloud Customer
May 25, 2018 20:24  

Plans to add a noise reduction tool is good news.  As part of my APP learning, I re-processed a narrow band image I had already processed in PI about a year ago.  I experimented with the APP shapening / protection tool and I was able to get a better looking image with APP than the image I produced with PI; that is, the detail visible in the APP sharpened image was better than the detail in the PI image.  

Charlie

ReplyQuote
(@mabula-admin)
Quasar Admin
May 28, 2018 14:57  

Hi Charlie @chasmiller46,

Excellent that is very nice to hear 😉

Mabula

ReplyQuote
(@kkoutr)
Molecular Cloud Customer
June 5, 2018 23:19  

Hi Mabula

Is there any chance the noise reduction tool to be ready in the next update?