Light Pollution Rem...

Share:
Notifications
Clear all

15th Feb 2024: Astro Pixel Processor 2.0.0-beta29 released - macOS native File Chooser, macOS CMD-Q fixed, read-only Fits on network fixed and other bug fixes

7th December 2023:  added payment option Alipay to purchase Astro Pixel Processor from China, Hong Kong, Macau, Taiwan, Korea, Japan and other countries where Alipay is used.

Light Pollution Removal Tool Issue

17 Posts
2 Users
3 Likes
(@kisslija)
White Dwarf
Topic starter  

Hello,

I'm new to using APP and have been having an issue with the light pollution removal tool. No matter how many boxes I use I keep getting a wavy zebra stripe pattern in the image, see attached. I've played with the number of boxes I use and get the same result. Has anyone else seen this before? 

I'm using a ZWO ASI2600MC Pro and calibrate my images with Pixinsight. I'm using the light pollution tool on a linear image.

M94 WBPP Only lpc cbg
APP Interface

I've attached a calibrated image before using the light pollution tool as a reference. 

M94 WBPP Only

Any input would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Jeff

ReplyQuote
(@wvreeven)
Quasar

@kisslija Hi Jeff,

Yes we have seen this before and probably is a rendering issue. Does the pattern go away if you disable OpenGL?

Wouter

ReplyQuote
(@kisslija)
White Dwarf
Topic starter  

Hi,

I'm running APP on a Windows 10 Maingear laptop with a Ryzen 9 processor that contains a NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3070 graphics card. Unfortunately, I'm unable to disable or adjust the hardware acceleration. Is this what you meant?

Jeff

ReplyQuote
(@kisslija)
White Dwarf
Topic starter  

I found the "OpenGL" button in the upper left corner of the APP control panel, I believe this is what you were referencing. I clicked it and it changed to "CPU". I ran the light pollution tool on the same image and still have the wavy lines. 

This post was modified 2 years ago by Jeff Kisslinger

ReplyQuote
(@wvreeven)
Quasar