Getting error - jav...
 
Share:
Notifications
Clear all

31 July 2020 - Comet Registration video tutorial using APP 1.083-beta1 released.

30 July 2020 - APP 1.083-beta1 has been released introducing Comet processing! This 1st beta has comet registration. The stable release will also include special comet integration modes.

9 July 2020 - New and updated video tutorial using APP 1.081: Complete LRGB Tutorial of NGC292, The Small Magellanic Cloud by Christian Sasse (iTelescope.net) and Mabula Haverkamp

2019 September: Astro Pixel Processor and iTelescope.net celebrate a new Partnership!

Getting error - java.lang.ArrayIndexOutOfBoundsException: 1575  

  RSS

(@chasdso)
Brown Dwarf Customer
Joined: 2 years ago
Posts: 8
November 3, 2019 20:22  

I'm trying to process two sessions of data, I've done this workload with settings before with APP without problems and wondering if you've run into this error yet with the new release?

2 multi-session with nband filters, master flats and master darkflats for each and single master dark.  I've run the workload twice now, mostly the same settings, failed both times.

If you haven't seen this before, I can run again and capture the full console/log activity -- also, wasn't sure which forum section to post this:

Encountered error in module:
ConverterWorkerColor

Error message:
java.lang.ArrayIndexOutOfBoundsException: 1575

Cause:
1575
kE.a(Unknown Source)
kE.doInBackground(Unknown Source)
javax.swing.SwingWorker$1.call(SwingWorker.java:295)
java.util.concurrent.FutureTask.run(FutureTask.java:266)

This topic was modified 12 months ago 2 times by chasdso

ReplyQuote
Topic Tags
(@chasdso)
Brown Dwarf Customer
Joined: 2 years ago
Posts: 8
November 4, 2019 18:07  

I broke out the processing to single session and removed Master Bias (Since I had darkflats this wasn't needed) and it worked for each.  So not sure if it was having the Master Bias included or trying to do multi-session that generated the error.


ReplyQuote
(@chasdso)
Brown Dwarf Customer
Joined: 2 years ago
Posts: 8
November 5, 2019 20:02  

Ok reduced the error surface -

I setup another run with same settings - two sessions (multi-channel, multi-session).

I'm using darkflats, and when I include a Master Bias I get the error above. When I omit the Master Bias, works fine (even in multi-channel, multi-session).

SOOOO, might be nice to have a user UI block or something, if you add dark flats, grey out the Master Bias and vice-versa, or give a popup indication this will cause a conflict - idk.

 

Thanks


(@vincent-mod)
Quasar Admin
Joined: 3 years ago
Posts: 2484
November 6, 2019 18:22  

Yes,  there are a few ways to look at this as a programmer (as always); most common errors are captured in APP for sure, however some errors you don't want to catch as it would give a false security so to say, the program continues with wrong data. I will definitely agree that it would be very nice for the user if it did show some kind of warning if possible (@mabula-admin knows all about that), But as you found out, there seems to be a problem with the bias data somehow. We can always have a look at the bias to check if you prefer.


ReplyQuote
(@chasdso)
Brown Dwarf Customer
Joined: 2 years ago
Posts: 8
November 6, 2019 19:16  

@vincent-mod

Thanks Vincent -

What is odd though - I went back and tried another process - without a master dark flat (just a pile of dark flats so it could build the master dark flat).

It wouldn't work! It gave me an error that I needed a master bias!

Very odd. I added the master bias and it worked.  So - it seems, if you already have a master dark flat, you can not add a master bias. If you have no master dark flat but just dark flat subs, it requires the master bias.


ReplyQuote
(@wvreeven)
Neutron Star Customer
Joined: 2 years ago
Posts: 244
November 6, 2019 19:38  

With my ASI1600MM-C I always use a master bias and a master dark flat and never experience issues. I also always use a master dark and I created a dark library with different exposure times exactly for this. The only subs I add are the lights and the flats. This always works for me.


ReplyQuote
(@chasdso)
Brown Dwarf Customer
Joined: 2 years ago
Posts: 8
November 6, 2019 20:03  

@wvreeven

Hmmm that's odd.

Btw, pretty sure you aren't supposed to use master bias with the 1600 - there is some issue with super-fast frames like a bias with the 1600, that's why folks use darkflats instead.

I'm doing all this with the 183 which doesn't have that issue - but using darkflats anyway, someone recommended it - can't remember...


ReplyQuote
(@wvreeven)
Neutron Star Customer
Joined: 2 years ago
Posts: 244
November 6, 2019 20:34  

Thanks, yes I heard about the bias issue with this camera but my pics don’t seem to be affected by it. I’ll keep it in mind though.


ReplyQuote
(@vincent-mod)
Quasar Admin
Joined: 3 years ago
Posts: 2484
November 6, 2019 21:06  

Thanks for the tests, I hope Mabula can pop over to have a look here as well soon.


ReplyQuote
Share: