Aligning a stack us...

Share:
Notifications
Clear all

15th Feb 2024: Astro Pixel Processor 2.0.0-beta29 released - macOS native File Chooser, macOS CMD-Q fixed, read-only Fits on network fixed and other bug fixes

7th December 2023:  added payment option Alipay to purchase Astro Pixel Processor from China, Hong Kong, Macau, Taiwan, Korea, Japan and other countries where Alipay is used.

Aligning a stack using a reference frame not included in the stack

4 Posts
2 Users
3 Likes
(@tmitrou)
White Dwarf
Topic starter  

I'm new to APP so bear with me.... 

I have a bunch of RGB images of M42 that stack fine in APP. (Lets call them M42 Normal)

I also have a bunch of RGB images where I used an Ha filter to shoot ( enhance ) the  Ha that were shot at a different time.

I want to stack the Ha images separately so that they align with the ' M42 Normal ' stack. In DSS you can deselect the reference frame during a stack and it will still be used as the alignment frame but not included in the stack.

Ultimately in Photoshop I want to create an HaRGB image, which I know how to do, but I have to manually manipulate the images using Photoshop to get them to align.

How can I stack the Ha images in APP using a reference frame from the ' M42 Normal ' stack?

In other words, when I stack my Ha lights, how do I get them to align with a 'reference light' that I don't want to include in the integration?

I have tried to stack the ' M42 Normal ' lights and then unchecked all of them. Then checked all the Ha lights, hoping the reference 'M42 Normal ' reference light would still be used but I get an error message when I try to integrate the Ha checked images.

Any help or guidance would be greatly appreciated...

Ted

ReplyQuote
(@wvreeven)
Quasar