A general question ...

Share:
Notifications
Clear all

15th Feb 2024: Astro Pixel Processor 2.0.0-beta29 released - macOS native File Chooser, macOS CMD-Q fixed, read-only Fits on network fixed and other bug fixes

7th December 2023:  added payment option Alipay to purchase Astro Pixel Processor from China, Hong Kong, Macau, Taiwan, Korea, Japan and other countries where Alipay is used.

A general question about software version numbering

4 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@maxtrixbass)
Main Sequence Star
Topic starter  

I'm not a software developer and absolutely no expert here.. How is a commercial software version numbering dertermined?

I generally thought:

1. Major changes move versions from 1.x to 2.x etc.

2. Minor additions move things from x.1 to x.2

3. Enhancements to existing routines move things from x.x1 to x.x2

I guess I'm trying to cut Mabula some slack here. At first glance one could think "all this for 1.082 to 1.083??". I have to admit looking at another software package and seeing it had "only" moved from 1.7x to 1.9x in 3 years and thinking "well, that hasn't seen much development". Looking at another and seeing it move from 2.x to 3.x in the same time made me think "this is more actively developed".

It seems to me (absolutely no complaint as "its just a name" and again I'm no expert), but this last round is more of a 1.8 to 1.9.  Is there something more formal at play here or is it just marketing? 

ReplyQuote
(@mabula-admin)
Universe Admin

Hi William @maxtrixbass,

Yes, you make a very valid point here 😉 

This release could well have been going from 1.083 to 1.1 considering what changed, improved and was added and the long release time.

Rules about version numbering have to do with setting goals I think and there are no set rules really. It depends on the project and the possibilities probably.