Use APP on a virtua...

Share:
Notifications
Clear all

15th Feb 2024: Astro Pixel Processor 2.0.0-beta29 released - macOS native File Chooser, macOS CMD-Q fixed, read-only Fits on network fixed and other bug fixes

7th December 2023:  added payment option Alipay to purchase Astro Pixel Processor from China, Hong Kong, Macau, Taiwan, Korea, Japan and other countries where Alipay is used.

Use APP on a virtual machine in the cloud

5 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@cosimos)
Molecular Cloud
Topic starter  

Hi there

I’m using APP on my i5 laptop which is pretty slow.
Since I work in IT, the idea came up to let a Windows Virtual Machine on Azure do the work.
Now I have to choose a machine type and have some questions:
-Is there a benefit of choosing a machine with a powerful GPU?
-Does it make sense to use more then 32 Cores or is there an upper limit?

I’m currently aiming for a “F32s v2” with 32 Cores, 64GB RAM and 256GB Storage, which would cost me around 3$/hour.

This topic was modified 2 years ago by Reto Krucker

ReplyQuote
(@vincent-mod)
Universe Admin

GPU isn't as beneficial no, I would focus on the amount of cores. In principle there is no huge limit to the amount of cores as far as I know. Keep us posted as this is an interesting way of processing for sure. Does it use SSD for storage? That will also benefit processing.

ReplyQuote
(@rickwayne)
Neutron Star

Huh, I definitely want to follow this thread. Good idea.

In fact, this could be a potential revenue stream for Aries. You could offer a subscription service, with or without a surcharge based on usage. You can offer computing resources far exceeding what anyone is likely to buy for themselves without making a capital investment, and the latest APP will always be installed. (Hey, someday that's gonna be a thing again, right?!!)