Very slow integrati...

Share:
Notifications
Clear all

15th Feb 2024: Astro Pixel Processor 2.0.0-beta29 released - macOS native File Chooser, macOS CMD-Q fixed, read-only Fits on network fixed and other bug fixes

7th December 2023:  added payment option Alipay to purchase Astro Pixel Processor from China, Hong Kong, Macau, Taiwan, Korea, Japan and other countries where Alipay is used.

Very slow integration speed

2 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@vbocc1)
Molecular Cloud
Topic starter  

Hi all. I am very new to astrophotography and am not very tech savvy so I apologize in advance for any ignorance. I have previously been using DSS to stack images on my PC and then move the TIF file to APP on my Mac to do some editing. I've been reading how DSS is outdated and APP can give better stacking results so I decided to try and use APP exclusively for both stacking and the initial processing of my images. 

I first tried stacking with APP on my 2020 MacBook Pro and analyze stars was taking hours to complete. It got to around 30% when the Mac started to get extremely hot and something inside it popped and the computer broke. The Mac was less than a month old and when Apple was done repairing it they said something about having to replace the heat sink and that whatever broke on the computer usually never happens. Regardless, the computer is still very slow when I process images in photoshop so I decided to just try and stack the images on my PC instead to be safe. 

I'm now using the same data on the PC that I tried on the Mac (142 light frames and 30 of each calibration frames) and I hit analyze stars at approximately 2am. Now almost 7 hours later the analyze stars is only 66% completed. The specs of my Mac and PC are similar so I am wondering if this is a normal amount of time to process images with APP and both of my computers just don't have the power to stack more quickly.