Irregular Mosaic - ...

Share:
Notifications
Clear all

15th Feb 2024: Astro Pixel Processor 2.0.0-beta29 released - macOS native File Chooser, macOS CMD-Q fixed, read-only Fits on network fixed and other bug fixes

7th December 2023:  added payment option Alipay to purchase Astro Pixel Processor from China, Hong Kong, Macau, Taiwan, Korea, Japan and other countries where Alipay is used.

Irregular Mosaic - A panel looks "burned"

6 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@jk_olivo)
Brown Dwarf
Topic starter  

Good morning everyone,

I am quite new to APP and to astrophotography in general. My actual project is a 2x2 mosaic of Andromeda Galaxy. So far, I only got 3 out of 4 parts of the mosaic, but I decided to process them anyway on APP to see how it works.

The result is pretty strange. Even though each panel looks somehow OK before integration, that is what I got after integration (see attached picture). The South-West panel is completely "burned" and the North-West panel has the background much more illuminated 🙄. Also, the North-West panel is too tilted as compared to the other two, but this is probably due to the camera that was slightly rotated during that photo session. 

M31 Mosaic St

Few comments on the parameters I have chosen:

• 3/ Analyse Stars 
    • I set that to 3000
  • 4/ Register
    • Quadrilaterals, scale start at 5, scale stop at 12, use dynamic distortion correction, same camera and optics. Registration mode mosaic, registration model projective.
  • 5/ Normalize
    • Mode advanced, multiply-scale, BWMV. Background neutralisation enabled
  • 6/ Integration 
    • Integrate all together, automatic integration, composition mode full, 1st degree LNC with 3 iterations. I have enabled the MBB at 10%

For information, disabling the MBB does not help. 

Any idea of the reason of this issue ? Perhaps is it due to the fact that one panel is missing ?

Thanks a lot for the help 😀 

This topic was modified 2 years ago by Jacopo Olivo

ReplyQuote
(@vincent-mod)