delete files on ima...
 
Share:
Notifications
Clear all

2022-09-02: APP 2.0.0-beta4 has been released !

Release notes

Download links per platform:

windows 2.0.0-beta4

macOS x86_64 2.0.0-beta4

macOS arm64 M1 2.0.0-beta4

Linux DEB 2.0.0-beta4

Linux RPM 2.0.0-beta4

delete files on image lest


(@johneta)
Hydrogen Atom Customer
Joined: 3 years ago
Posts: 1
Topic starter  

Is there any way to recover images deleted from the image list at the bottom of the main page.

I didnt realise this was delete from hard drive. I thought it was just delete from the list.

Also doesnt seem to go through Windows recycle bin -so they are not there. I might be missing something but this seems to be an unwise feature. I just lost 52 light frames I took a couple of years ago

This topic was modified 3 years ago by Mabula-Admin

ReplyQuote
(@ralph)
Main Sequence Star Customer
Joined: 3 years ago
Posts: 78
 

I haven't tried any of these programs myself, but something along these lines should do the job:

https://www.techradar.com/best/best-free-file-recovery-software


ReplyQuote
(@xplode85)
Brown Dwarf Customer
Joined: 4 years ago
Posts: 11
 

This is all on you in my opinion, there's both remove and delete so it's pretty obvious what each button does...
If delete was remove the images why would there be a remove option? 🙄 
It would be great if they were moved to the recycle bin thou.

image

ReplyQuote
(@mabula-admin)
Quasar Admin
Joined: 5 years ago
Posts: 3228
 
Posted by: @johneta

Is there any way to recover images deleted from the image list at the bottom of the main page.

I didnt realise this was delete from hard drive. I thought it was just delete from the list.

Also doesnt seem to go through Windows recycle bin -so they are not there. I might be missing something but this seems to be an unwise feature. I just lost 52 light frames I took a couple of years ago

Hi John Donegan @johneta, @ralph & @xplode85,

First of all, please accept my sincere apologies for you having lost some of your data.

Indeed, the files are permanently deleted if you select to delete your files.

To be clear, this feature actually was implemented on request of a lot of users in the previous year. And APP really does warn you clearly about this before the files are actually removed. Please see this screenshot of the warning:

Permanently Delete Files Warning

I can only conclude here, that you might have taken the warning in vain, or you just did not read it at all? The warning is there to make sure that you don't accidentally delete files that you want to keep obviously.

A lot of users like this quick delete functionality, to quickly remove bad/odd data, without first having to find the frames in their operating system file system and then remove it. That clearly takes a lot more time !!, especially if you process 1000s of frames spread of different filters and sessions like some astrophotographers do these days. This feature saves them quite a bit of time I know for a fact.

I would agree that I could make the DELETE warning  stand out more, so users are really forced to read it and understand the implications. I will make the adjustments today so it will be included in APP 1.076.

As Ralph indicated, yes, for sure, any good data recovery tool should be able to restore your files, since the files are only removed as records from the files system. The actual data bits would still be there. Please consult the documentation first of such software to recover the data.

Kind regards,

Mabula

This post was modified 3 years ago by Mabula-Admin

ReplyQuote
(@wvreeven)
Galaxy Admin
Joined: 4 years ago
Posts: 1881
 

@mabula-admin I just saw your topic on preparing release 1.076 and perhaps you could improve the warning even further by stating that the files will not be moved to the Recycle Bin but deleted immediately. Just a thought.

Thanks, Wouter


ReplyQuote
(@mabula-admin)
Quasar Admin
Joined: 5 years ago
Posts: 3228
 

Hi Wouter @wvreeven, okay, I will add that as well to be perfectly clear, thanks 😉

Mabula


ReplyQuote
(@mabula-admin)
Quasar Admin
Joined: 5 years ago
Posts: 3228
 

How about this @wvreeven ?

Permanently Delete Files

ReplyQuote
(@wvreeven)
Galaxy Admin
Joined: 4 years ago
Posts: 1881
 

Perfect @mabula-admin!


ReplyQuote
(@peclerjakub)
Hydrogen Atom Customer
Joined: 2 years ago
Posts: 1
 

Hello guys, I just accidentally deleted over 300 frames (20hrs) when separating good/bad frames. This is a third time it happened to me since I purchased APP. Before it was only couple of hours so I didn't care, now it pissed me off big time! I couldn't understand how I managed to mark all frames from top till now. Finally I managed to recreate an issue and in my opinion its APP bug which should be solved years ago.

So, let me describe an issue:

I review frames one by one, double click on frame, if its bad I do right click and delete. Pop up warning window shows up, for me it is more annoying than helpful because its of waste my time and to be honest in 99.9999% cases I want to delete a file. If I accidentally delete 1 frame it doesn't bother me at all. I am aware that frame will be deleted forever and for this reason I never read/look at warning window. I just click delete  - can you add tick box "never show warning again"?

Lets say I review 300 frames this way and clouds will appear in frame no. 301. I expect to have a clouds in next frames too, so I just quickly double-click frame 302, 303, ... I review 10 frames this way and all of them have clouds, so I want to delete them in bulk. Last frame which I opened was 310, this frame is highlighted with grey colour so I hold SHIFT key and click frame 301, right click - delete and automatically confirm click delete forever. I didn't check warning 300 times, why should I check for 301st time? Lets guess what happens? APP will mark all frames from start! 

In order SHIFT key to work properly I need to do a single click on same frame 310 again (frame is highlighted by grey colour and in addition there is thin light blue frame) and after holding shift key I can click frame 301. This way APP will mark only 10 frames which I want to be marked and deleted.

Issue is a SHIFT key functionality and the fact that APP will mark all frames from top - I didn't want that. Many people use shift key, and I couldn't recreate this bug on iMac and Windows, so why is it possible with APP? Now I am aware of this bug so I will be very careful when using SHIFT key but its a bit too late because I lost 4 nights of my life. I believe I am not first/last person who lost valuable data this way so will be great to fix that for future customers.

Thank you

Jakub


ReplyQuote
(@wvreeven)
Galaxy Admin
Joined: 4 years ago
Posts: 1881
 

@peclerjakub Hi Jakub, sorry that you lost so many files. It is, as a matter of fact, not a SHIFT key issue but a frame selection issue. It seems that double clicking a file doesn't select it for other file operations correctly. This is a known issue that Mabula is working on to solve. Once again sorry that you lost all those files.

Wouter


ReplyQuote
Share: