Diagnosing issues

Share:
Notifications
Clear all

15th Feb 2024: Astro Pixel Processor 2.0.0-beta29 released - macOS native File Chooser, macOS CMD-Q fixed, read-only Fits on network fixed and other bug fixes

7th December 2023:  added payment option Alipay to purchase Astro Pixel Processor from China, Hong Kong, Macau, Taiwan, Korea, Japan and other countries where Alipay is used.

Diagnosing issues

23 Posts
4 Users
2 Likes
(@tbarn)
White Dwarf
Topic starter  

Looking for some help on diagnosing a poor result. I'm still learning APP, but today I tried creating a set of masters by loading my flats (ISO1000 at 1/80), dark flats (same gain & exp) and darks (ISO1000 at 30s taken at -10C ... same as lights). I had about 30 flats and dark flats and 55 darks.

Imaging was done with an RGB Canon mirrorless full-frame sensor.

Prior to processing, I noticed that my flats were much bluer than usual. This was the first time that I had taken flats the next morning by pointing at the sky (still with white t-shirt).

After creating the masters, I loaded in 137 lights and started processing. The integration recently finished and there was a huge background gradient that surprised me and the image seemed much noisier than I anticipated.

I went back and looked at the masters and noticed that the master flat had almost no red data and all of the calibrated and normalized lights were very green-ish.

How do I go about diagnosing what went wrong here?

Thanks you!

ReplyQuote
(@astrogee)
Neutron Star

I think this might be a problem with sky flats. The light is bluish, not full spectrum. Some tutorials say to use a cloudy sky, being grey which is full spectrum. But I think the stacking software should not use each channel separately but normalize them and blend the three into a monochrome flat. I don't know if APP is doing this... if not, then why?

Tom Barns reacted
ReplyQuote
(@wvreeven)
Quasar