Basic noob registra...

Share:
Notifications
Clear all

15th Feb 2024: Astro Pixel Processor 2.0.0-beta29 released - macOS native File Chooser, macOS CMD-Q fixed, read-only Fits on network fixed and other bug fixes

7th December 2023:  added payment option Alipay to purchase Astro Pixel Processor from China, Hong Kong, Macau, Taiwan, Korea, Japan and other countries where Alipay is used.

Basic noob registration question

4 Posts
2 Users
2 Likes
(@tbar23)
Main Sequence Star
Topic starter  

Hi all - I am very new to Astro photography as well as APP. I have watched several video tutorials and done some searching on the forum, but I haven’t found great answers. Please feel free, however, to point me to the right resource.

Quick background: trial license (1.082) on an M1 MacBook Air running Big Sur OS (11.5.2).

My images are very basic. Just a camera (EOS RP) on a tripod. No tracking. Using either a zoom lens (24-105) at 24mm or a wide-angle 14mm prime - both wide open. I have been trying to shoot either M31 or the MilkyWay, and I typically include some ground-based background. Shots are 15 - 30 second exposure time. I have experimented with darks, but haven’t done bias or flats, yet. However, my question centers around registration / alignment.

My initial attempts at stacking lights (usually just 5 to 12 images, but I have even gone to 2 to experiment with APP) to reduce background noise involved hand alignment with Photoshop. However, I was not happy with the linear x-y alignment that is easiest to do by hand (I could align a small part of the image, but other areas would be MSI-aligned). I found APP while trying to get a program that would automatically find the best rotational alignment for my entire image.

So I have tried loading lights into APP, running star analyzer and hitting Registration. The results don’t seem awesome.